過敏性(異位性)皮膚炎是許多獸醫機構觀察到的最典型的皮膚病。這種綜合症在接觸環境過敏原(通常是空氣中的過敏原)(引起過敏的外來蛋白質)後會引起瘙癢。狗真正的食物過敏相當罕見。寵物可能有食物不耐受,這是對飲食中的非營養素(例如添加劑)的過敏反應,但是很難確定這些反應的常見程度。雖然建議您為您的寵物提供最健康、最天然、最全面的食物,但飲食療法並不是治療狗狗搔癢的基石。

經過一些調整,為消化困難的動物設計的飲食可能對患有皮膚病的動物有幫助。這些客製化飲食除了監測患有異位性皮膚炎等皮膚病的寵物的任何改善外,還用於診斷和管理食物過敏。請記住,給發癢的狗餵食用於測試和治療食物過敏的飲食可能會導致改善,即使它們沒有真正的食物過敏。

食物試驗是一種特定的、科學的食物過敏測試方法。這可以透過自製飲食或專為食品試驗設計的商業飲食來完成。所有其他食物來源,例如零食、零食、餐桌殘渣和調味藥物,都必須在試驗期間移除。您的寵物應該只吃試驗飲食至少 8 週,儘管目前建議 12 週,因為最初的改善可能要到第 8 週才能看到。8 週後,通常可以安全地慢慢地將其他食物引入飲食中以受控的方式。如果您不確定如何執行此操作,請諮詢您的獸醫或獸醫營養師。如果您的寵物有食物過敏,一旦去除過敏成分,症狀就會消失。如果您的寵物沒有改善,那麼食物過敏可能不是皮膚問題的原因。在某些情況下,食物試驗可能不會成功,食物過敏可能仍然存在。在這種情況下,皮膚症狀可能對試驗飲食沒有反應,因為您的寵物可能對試驗飲食中的一種或多種成分過敏。

在測試食物過敏時,必須採用低過敏飲食。最常見的低過敏性飲食是水解蛋白飲食,其中蛋白質被分解成更小的單位,不太可能引起過敏反應。其他飲食可能會使用新型蛋白質,例如寵物食品中不常用的鹿肉或兔肉。排除食物過敏後,可以使用新型蛋白質或水解蛋白質飲食來治療患有食物過敏和異位性皮膚炎的寵物。飲食可能會持續幾個月到幾年,或寵物的一生,這取決於食物過敏的嚴重程度。飲食可以作為單一療法,也可以作為控制過敏和皮膚病的更全面計劃的一部分。如果飲食與其他療法結合使用,可能需要更長的飲食才能看到臨床改善。

zh_TWZH

Pin It on Pinterest

What Our Clients Say
83 reviews

Allergic (atopic) dermatitis is the most typical skin condition observed in many veterinary facilities. This syndrome causes itching following exposure to environmental allergens (often airborne ones) (foreign proteins which induce allergies.) True food allergies in dogs are rather uncommon. Pets may have food intolerances, which are allergic reactions to non-nutrients in the diet (such additives), however it can be difficult to determine how common these reactions are. While giving your pet the healthiest, most natural, and holistic food you can is advised, dietary therapy is not a cornerstone in the treatment of itching dogs.

With a little adjustment, diets designed for animals with digestive difficulties may be helpful for animals with skin conditions. These customized meals are used to diagnose and manage food allergies in addition to monitoring any improvements in pets that suffer from skin conditions like atopic dermatitis. Remember that feeding your itching dogs the diet used to test and treat food allergies may result in improvement even if they don’t have a real food allergy.

A food trial is a specific, scientific approach to testing for food allergy. This can be done using either a homemade diet or a commercial diet that has been designed specifically for food trials. All other food sources, such as treats, snacks, table scraps, and flavored medications, must be removed during the trial. Your pet should be eating the trial diet exclusively for at least 8 weeks, although 12 weeks is currently recommended, because initial improvement may not be seen until week 8. After 8 weeks, it is usually safe to slowly introduce other foods back into the diet in a controlled manner. If you are unsure how to do this, please speak with your veterinarian or a veterinary nutritionist. If your pet has a food allergy, once the allergenic ingredients are removed, symptoms should resolve. If your pet does not improve, then food allergies are likely not the cause of the skin problems. The food trial may not be successful in some cases, and a food allergy may still be present. In this case, the skin symptoms may not respond to the trial diet because your pet may have an allergy to one or more of the ingredients in the trial diet.

When testing for food allergies, a hypoallergenic diet must be used. The most common varieties of hypoallergenic diets are hydrolyzed protein diets, where the protein has been broken down into smaller units that are less likely to cause an allergic reaction. Other diets may use novel proteins, such as venison or rabbit that are not commonly used in pet foods. After food allergies have been ruled out, a novel protein or hydrolyzed protein diet may be used to treat pets with food allergies and atopic dermatitis. A diet may be used for several months to years, or for the lifetime of the pet, depending on the severity of the food allergies. A diet may be used as a sole therapy or as a component of a more comprehensive plan to control allergies and skin disease. If a diet is used in combination with other therapies, it may be necessary to feed the diet for a longer period of time to see clinical improvement.

en_USEN

Pin It on Pinterest

What Our Clients Say
123 reviews