現在人們比以往任何時候都更常飼養寵物。如果您在公園散步,甚至只是在街上散步,很少有人會遛狗。事實上,現在很多地方都接受寵物,有些地方還設有寵物咖啡館。人們出於不同的原因想要寵物。有些人想把它們當作忠實的朋友和伴侶,有些人想因為它們的美麗而保留它們,有些人因為它們不尋常和獨特的特質而保留它們。人們飼養寵物由來已久。第一批已知的狗是在 14,000 多年前被馴化的。從那時起,人們繼續將各種動物視為自己的,包括狗、貓、鳥、兔子、倉鼠、魚等等。人們對飼養寵物越來越感興趣。事實上,寵物產業正在不斷發展。在美國,寵物產業是$720億的產業。該行業預計將繼續增長。有些人選擇從收容所收養寵物,而不是從飼養員或寵物商店購買寵物。

光是在美國,每年就有近 2500 萬隻動物被用於實驗。其中有狗、貓、兔子、豬、羊、猴子和其他生物。它們被關在小籠子裡,被強迫餵食化學物質,頭骨上被鑽洞,並遭受其他痛苦的手術。幸運的人會在痛苦結束後被安樂死。然而,仍有許多人因生病且無法照顧自己而被遺棄並經常死亡。沒有法律要求實驗室為不再需要的動物尋找家園,因此這些生物的命運往往由科學家個人自行決定。結果,許多實驗中使用的動物在研究完成後就被殺死了。有許多動物權利組織,例如善待動物組織 (PETA),致力於揭露動物試驗的殘酷性,並遊說制定更嚴格的法規。這些團體也為那些想要在研究中尋找動物替代品的科學家提供支持。

動物實驗有時被稱為「動物測試」、「動物實驗」和「動物研究」。它用於評估產品的安全性和有效性以及了解人體的功能。動物實驗分為三種類型: 體外實驗是使用從體內取出的細胞或組織進行的。體內實驗是使用活體動物進行的。計算機模擬實驗是使用計算機模型進行的。有些人認為動物實驗是必要的罪惡,而有些人則認為這是一種不人道和殘忍的做法。圍繞動物實驗倫理的爭論是複雜的,而且常常是情緒化的。那些支持動物實驗的人出於多種原因這樣做。他們認為動物實驗對於醫學科學的進步是必要的,並且促進了救生療法和疫苗的開發。他們也認為,實驗中使用的動物得到了很好的照顧,它們的權利受到法律保護。那些反對動物實驗的人出於多種原因這樣做。他們認為利用動物進行實驗是殘忍且不人道的。他們也認為,有不涉及使用動物的替代研究方法。

測試行業經常對動物進行接近酷刑的測試。動物通常是專門為了進行實驗而飼養的。對動物進行的測試通常是痛苦的,有時甚至是致命的。動物在實驗過程中會經歷恐懼和痛苦。動物無法同意進行實驗。測試對象可能被迫吸毒成癮,或接觸愛滋病毒或其他致命疾病。除了與動物試驗相關的倫理問題外,還存在科學問題。動物對藥物和其他物質的反應與人類不同。這意味著動物測試的結果應用於人類時可能不準確。

作者簡介:Faith Whitehead 博士;是一名有執照的獸醫和研究員。

zh_TWZH

Pin It on Pinterest

What Our Clients Say
131 reviews

People are rearing pets now more than ever before. Few individuals may be seen walking dogs if you take a stroll through a park or even just walk through the streets. In reality, a lot of locations now accept pets, and several locations have pet cafés available. People want pets for different reasons. Some people want to keep them as loyal friends and companions, some people want to keep them for their beauty, and some people keep them for their unusual and unique traits. People have been keeping pets for a long time. The first known dogs were domesticated over 14,000 years ago. Since then, people have continued to keep all kinds of animals as their own, including dogs, cats, birds, rabbits, hamsters, fish, and more. People are becoming more and more interested in keeping pets. In fact, the pet industry is growing. In the United States, the pet industry is a $72 billion industry. This industry is expected to continue to grow. Some people are choosing to adopt pets from shelters instead of buying them from breeders or pet stores.

In the United States alone, almost 25 million animals are used for experimentation every year. Dogs, cats, bunnies, pigs, lambs, monkeys, and other creatures are among them. They are confined to small cages where they are force-fed chemicals, have holes drilled into their skulls, and suffer other painful procedures. The lucky ones are euthanized when their torment is over. Many others, however, are abandoned and often die because they are ill and have no way to care for themselves. There is no law that requires laboratories to find homes for the animals they no longer need, so the fate of these creatures is often left to the discretion of individual scientists. As a result, many animals used in experiments are simply killed when the research is done. There are a number of animal rights organizations, such as People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), that work to expose the cruelty of animal testing and lobby for stricter regulations. These groups also provide support to scientists who want to find alternatives to using animals in their research.

Animal experimentation is sometimes referred to as “animal testing,” “animal experimentation,” and “animal research.” It is used to evaluate a product’s safety and effectiveness as well as to comprehend how the human body functions. There are three types of animal experiments: In-vitro experiments are conducted using cells or tissues that have been removed from the body. In-vivo experiments are conducted using living animals. In silico experiments are conducted using computer models. Animal experimentation is considered to be a necessary evil by some people while others believe that it is an inhumane and cruel practice. The debate surrounding the ethics of animal experimentation is complex and often emotional. Those who support animal experimentation do so for a variety of reasons. They argue that animal experimentation is necessary for the advancement of medical science and that it has led to the development of lifesaving treatments and vaccines. They also argue that the animals used in experiments are well cared for and that their rights are protected by law. Those who oppose animal experimentation do so for a variety of reasons. They argue that it is cruel and inhumane to use animals for experimentation. They also argue that there are alternative methods of research that do not involve the use of animals.

The testing industry often subjects animals to tests that are on the verge of becoming torture. Animals are often bred particularly to be experimented on. The tests performed on animals are often painful and sometimes deadly. Animals experience fear and suffering during experiments. Animals are not able to give consent to be experimented on. Test subjects may be forced to become addicted to drugs, or be exposed to HIV or other deadly diseases. In addition to the ethical problems associated with animal testing, there are also scientific problems. Animals react differently to drugs and other substances than humans do. This means that the results of animal testing may not be accurate when applied to humans.

About the author: Dr. Faith Whitehead; is a licensed veterinarian and researcher.

en_USEN

Pin It on Pinterest

What Our Clients Say
131 reviews